About Us » History


The Living Sky School Division No. 202 was a legal body formed as the result of a provincial initiative to amalgamate school divisions. The division was formed by the amalgamation of the former Battlefords School Division No. 118, LandsWest School Division No. 123 and the Sonningdale and Cando School Districts of the Biggar School Division No. 50.
The division is governed by a ten member Board of Education, who were first elected on June 15, 2005. Six members are elected from subdivisions in rural areas, one member is elected from the Town of Battleford subdivision and three members are elected from the City of North Battleford subdivision. School division elections coincide with Saskatchewan municipal elections.
The Board of Education represents the public and as elected officials are responsible to establish the direction of the school division.
About Our Name
A grade 3 student from Hillsvale Colony School selected the name of Living Sky School Division.

About Our Logo
In 2005, Purcell Moosomin, a Grade 12 student, designed the logo. Purcell is a dedicated artist who has demonstrated his talent in creating the visual representation of the Living Sky School Division.
The logo chosen displays the diverse landscape of the region. A circle encloses the images and the colours reflect the First Nations education circle. The colours in the circle have symbolic meaning which represent the earth and its surroundings. The circle also demonstrates a continuation of learning, as our motto indicates “Living to Learn”.